Flow Cytometry

Calibration and Performance Tracking - SpheroTechnical Notes #8

The SPHERO™ Calibration Particles are versatile, stable, economical and convenient to use. These particles contain a mixture of fluorochrome which are spectrally similar to many of the fluorochromes used in flow cytometry. As a result, they are used for routine alignment, day-to-day performance verification and long term performance tracking of several channels of flow cytometers in one run. These particles are very stable since the fluorochromes are entrapped inside the particles instead of being located on the surface. They are packaged in a convenient dropper bottle to facilitate the dispensing and storage. The diluted particles can be stored for later use if desired to reduce costs. These products and their uses are described briefly as follows:

 

Rainbow Calibration Particles (RCPs):

The RCPs are designed for the routine calibration of most available channels in any flow cytometer. For example, these particles are used to verify the instrument set up and to check the linearity and sensitivity of the instrument. If factory recommended procedures are used for instrument set up, we recommend that the RCPs are included into QC programs to track the long term and day-to-day performance.

 

Ultra Rainbow Calibration Particles (URCPs):

New flow cytometers with an increasing number of fluorescent channels are now available. As a result, the Ultra Rainbow Calibration Particles with enhanced UV and Far Red fluorescence intensity have been designed for performance tracking of flow cytometers with multiple lasers. For example, the Ultra Rainbow Calibration Particles have excellent resolution in the UV, violet, green, yellow, orange, red, far red, and IR channels of the flow cytometer. The URCPs are available in 6 peaks, 3.8µm or 5.1µm.
These particles are similar to the RCPs since a calibration graph for the URCPs is obtained using the same procedure. However, the URCP have a broader excitation wavelength range and improved resoltuion in the UV and Far Red Channels.

 

Rainbow Fluorescent Particles (RFPs):

The Rainbow Fluorescent Particles (RFPs) contain uniform size particles with a single intensity. The single peak of the RFP has low fluorescence and size coefficient of variation (CV). As a result, they are useful in the alignment of the optical system of the flow cytometer in multiple channels. For example, Spherotech Catalog Number RFP-30-5 is used to align the FITC, PE, PETR, PE-Cy5, and APC channels of the flow cytometer. See Figure 5 for the histograms of Spherotech Cat. No. RFP-30-5. The RFPs contain similar fluorophores to the Rainbow Calibration Particles. In addition, the RFPs have similar fluorescence intensities to the brightest peak of the corresponding Rainbow Calibration Particles with the exception of RFP-50-5, RFP-60-5, RFP-100-2, and RFP30-5A. The RFP-30-5A has the fluorescence intensity similar to stained cells in all channels.


Select the link below to download the complete SpheroTECHNICAL NOTE. (PDF format)

Contact

If you have questions please contact us at any time.

+49 (0)89 3799666-6
+49 (0)89 3799666-99
info@biozol.de

Durchflusszytometrie

Kalibrierung und Leistungsverfolgung - SpheroTechnical Notes #8

Die SPHERO™-Kalibrierungspartikel sind vielseitig, stabil, wirtschaftlich und bequem in der Anwendung. Diese Partikel enthalten eine Mischung von Fluorochromen, die spektral vielen der in der Durchflusszytometrie verwendeten Fluorochrome ähnlich sind. Daher werden sie für den Routineabgleich, die tägliche Leistungsüberprüfung und die langfristige Leistungsverfolgung mehrerer Kanäle von Durchflusszytometern in einem Lauf verwendet. Die Partikel sind sehr stabil, da die Fluorochrome im Inneren der Partikel eingeschlossen sind, anstatt sich auf der Oberfläche zu befinden. Sie sind in einer praktischen Tropfflasche verpackt, um das Dispensieren und die Lagerung zu erleichtern. Die verdünnten Partikel können für eine spätere Verwendung aufbewahrt werden, falls dies gewünscht wird, um Kosten zu sparen. Diese Produkte und ihre Anwendungen werden im Folgenden kurz beschrieben:

 

Rainbow Calibration Particles (RCPs):

Die RCPs sind für die Routinekalibrierung der meisten verfügbaren Kanäle in jedem Durchflusszytometer vorgesehen. Diese Partikel werden z. B. zur Überprüfung des Geräte-Setups und zur Überprüfung der Linearität und Empfindlichkeit des Geräts verwendet. Wenn die werkseitig empfohlenen Verfahren für das Instrumenten-Setup verwendet werden, empfehlen wir, die RCPs in QC-Programme einzubeziehen, um die langfristige und tägliche Leistung zu überprüfen.

 

Ultra-Regenbogen-Kalibrierungspartikel (URCPs):

Neue Durchflusszytometer stellen eine zunehmende Anzahl von Fluoreszenzkanälen zur Verfügung. Als Folge davon wurden die Ultra Rainbow Calibration Particles mit erhöhter
UV- und Far-Red-Fluoreszenzintensität für die Leistungsverfolgung von Durchflusszytometern mit mehreren Lasern entwickelt. Zum Beispiel haben die Ultra Rainbow Kalibrierungspartikel eine hervorragende Auflösung in den UV-, Violett-, Grün-, Gelb-, Orange-, Rot-, Fernrot- und IR-Kanälen des Durchflusszytometers. Die URCPs sind erhältlich in sechs Peaks, 3,8 µm oder 5,1 µm.
Die Partikel sind insofern ähnlich wie die RCPs, dass ein Kalibrierungsdiagramm für die URCPs mit dem gleichen Verfahren erstellt wird. Die URCPs haben jedoch einen breiteren Exzitationswellenlängenbereich und eine verbesserte Auflösung in den UV- und Fernrot-Kanälen. 

 

Regenbogen-Fluoreszenzpartikel (RFPs):

Die Rainbow Fluorescent Particles (RFPs) enthalten Partikel einheitlicher Größe mit einer einzigen Intensität. Der einzelne Peak der RFP hat einen niedrigen Fluoreszenz- und Größenvariationskoeffizienten (CV). Daher sind sie nützlich für die Ausrichtung des optischen Systems des Durchflusszytometers in mehreren Kanälen. Zum Beispiel wird die Spherotech-Katalognummer RFP-30-5 für die Ausrichtung der FITC-, PE-, PETR-, PE-Cy5- und APC-Kanäle des Durchflusszytometers verwendet. Siehe Abbildung 5 für die Histogramme von Spherotech Kat. Nr. RFP-30-5. Die RFPs enthalten ähnliche Fluorophore wie die Rainbow Calibration Particles. Außerdem haben die RFPs ähnliche Fluoreszenzintensitäten wie der hellste Peak der entsprechenden Rainbow Calibration Particles, mit Ausnahme von RFP-50-5, RFP-60-5, RFP-100-2 und RFP30-5A. Der RFP-30-5A hat in allen Kanälen die gleiche Fluoreszenzintensität wie gefärbte Zellen.


Wählen Sie den untenstehenden Link, um die vollständige SpheroTECHNICAL NOTE herunterzuladen. (PDF format)